Director Ava Duvernay Speaks on why she passed up the Chance to Direct Black Panther

720x405-blackpanther

Marvel isn’t done yet with bringing some of their iconic characters to the big screen and Black Panther is almost here. Director Ava DuVernay (Selma) recently spoke with at the closing keynote for the 2015 BlogHer conference about why she decided to pass up the project and why she will still be looking forward to the film.

“For me, it was a process of trying to figure out, are these people I want to go to bed with?” she said. “Because it’s really a marriage, and for this it would be three years. It’d be three years of not doing other things that are important to me. So it was a question of, is this important enough for me to do?

“At one point, the answer was yes because I thought there was value in putting that kind of imagery into the culture in a worldwide, huge way, in a certain way: excitement, action, fun, all those things, and yet still be focused on a black man as a hero — that would be pretty revolutionary,” she added.

She decided to pass on the offer due to creative differences with Marvel ultimately. “This is my art. This is what will live on after I’m gone. So it’s important to me that that be true to who I was in this moment. And if there’s too much compromise, it really wasn’t going to be an Ava DuVernay film.”

She’s still looking forward to the film and seems to have liked what she saw as a fan. “I think it should be good when it comes out. I’ll be there, watching.”

One thought on “Director Ava Duvernay Speaks on why she passed up the Chance to Direct Black Panther

  1. Pingback: The Lazy Geeks Podcast #199: It’s About That Time – The Lazy Geeks

Leave a Reply

